Groningen Evenementenhal 08/12/1987

If you have more information or memorabilia related to this gig that you’re happy to share, please get in touch.

Set List

  1. Plastic
  2. Sulphur
  3. Christine
  4. Touch Me
  5. Nothing To Me
  6. I Don’t Know Why I Love You Like I Do
  7. Man To Child
  8. Love In A Car
  9. The Hill
  10. Shine On
  11. Real Animal


Two recordings of this gig exist, one is a mixing desk tape (see below) and the other is a high quality audience recording. The mixing desk tape misses out The Hill (with Guy on vocals); the audience version includes this but misses the opening two songs. Both however are well worth tracking down, if nothing else for the superb version of Love In A Car which was rarely performed at this time.

Five songs from this gig appeared as bonus live tracks on Cherry Red’s debut album 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 5xCD box set reissue.


“Guy sent me a tape of this gig recorded from the mixing desk, which was a god send – remember at this time there were only two 3-track singles out. For me it was an early introduction to the songs that would appear on the debut album 6 months later (note Sulphur still had the working title City Is Grey). It was obvious from this recording that the band had a good number of well-crafted songs and they had become a very tight live act. Oddly live rarity The Hill is missing from the tape. I can only assume either Guy wasn’t happy enough with it to share or he was keen to fit the recording onto one side of C90 cassette!” Tim Driver

Photo Gallery